• Council member of the Faculty
• Council member of the TU Bergakademie Freiberg
• Member of program committee "Photonik", BMBF
• Chairman of the Technical Council Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft
• Member of the steering committee Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft
• Member of the VDI / VDE-GMA Advisory Board FB 8 "Optical Technologies of the Society for Measurement
   and Automation"
• Board of Trustees MPA, Heidelberg
• Board of Trustees Leibinger Stiftung
• Board of Trustees MPQ, Garching
• Board of Directors Helmholtz Institute, Jena
• Chairman "AG Naturwissenschaften", Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft Lasertechnik e.V.
• Member of acatech "Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften"
• Fellow of SPIE International Society of Optics and Photonics
• Fellow of OSA - Optical Society of America
• Supervisory board member Jenoptik AG
• Stakeholder Photonics 21-Platform
• Director of the Abbe Center of Photonics at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena
• Spokesman of the International Research Training Group GRK2101 "Guided light, tightly packed: novel concepts,
   components and applications"
• Spokesman of the Abbe School of Photonics at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena
• Spokesman of the Fraunhofer Innovation Cluster
• Spokesman of the BMBF Center for Innovation Competence ZIK "ultra optics"
• Spokesman of the BMBF Wachstumskern "Freeform optics plus fo+"
• Spokesman of the BMBF program Zwanzig20 "3Dsensation"
• Member of the Executive Board OptoNet e.V.
• Member of Technical Council committee Docter Optics
• Referee for several scientific journals