New OSA Fellows elected

"Fellows of The Optical Society" are elected based on their significant contributions to the advancement of optics and photonics. The OSA Fellow Members Committee reviews nominations submitted by means of several factors, including specific scientific, engineering, and technological contributions, a record of significant publications or patents related to optics, making the process both highly selective and competitive.
The scientific achievements of Stefan Nolte, Professor at the Institute of Applied Physics, convinced the OSA Board and he was appointed - besides 76 other scientists - to the "Class of 2016 OSA Fellow". "They are excellent examples of leaders and innovators in the field of optics and photonics," said Philip Russell, President of The Optical Society. CEO Elizabeth Rogan added: "The 2016 class of OSA Fellows reflects a group of talented, accomplished members. We are honored to recognize them as leaders in the field of optics and photonics."
In addition to their recognition, Fellows may apply for travel grants to visit and lecture in developing countries. "This is a particularly remarkable peculiarity of the honor, which I really appreciate. Even if I have no detailed plans yet, I would like to like to lecture also in developing countries and exchange ideas with other scientists. I am very happy to receive this award from the OSA, especially in the UNESCO Year of Light." said Prof. Stefan Nolte.

Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) currently has around 19.000 members from over 80 countries. It is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and entrepreneurs who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. (Source: OSA)

News from: 07.12.2015 09:12
back | next